Early

Rooster

April 3, 2017

Early to bed and early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.  Does it really?  For no good reason I woke this morning at 1:09 a.m. and sleep evaded me for the better part of two hours before I resigned to the fact that it just wasn’t coming back.  It’s been a long time since I just woke up this early in the morning and decided, “yep, I’m gonna get this day a goin’!”  But, that’s what I’m doing today.  Waking so early in the morning really makes my mind race.  When I first wake it races with full blown confusion:  Why am I awake right now?  I think I woke up because I need some water?  I should be able to fall right back to sleep… wrong.  So, after mulling over those simple thoughts for about 30 minutes I start to wonder if there is something more that I am missing, maybe my brain knows something I really don’t?!  I’m supposed to be awake right now, because… nope, no real reason.  Now that I’ve gotten through that first hour of simple questions with no real answers, I move on to the more dire and pressing issues in my life.  In the dark of an early morning room my mind tends to exaggerate every small little thought and worry into some gigantic and impossible dragon that I’m supposed to defeat, armed only with a stick and my wits.  I worry, about my kids, my family, my day and pretty much anything else that I could possibly come up with to worry about.  I start to work myself into such a frenzy that I realize, there is no possible way I will ever make it back to sleep this morning, I may as well just get the hell up and get busy, at least that will help to dull this grating noise caused by all these worries.  And so, I do and I clean the house, quietly, so as to not wake anyone else that isn’t suffering my same early morning affliction.  Then I sit and I write, no real purpose in the writing just writing to keep myself company I guess.  Sometimes words, as they are escaping from my head and down through my fingertips, have a life all their own – going back and re-reading them often allows me to hear the multiple sounds they make and it is somewhat soothing.  So, I guess this morning these words are just for me, just to keep me company as I stare out the window into the waning darkness of early morning and think to myself, “Today is gonna be great!  Why the hell else would I be up so damn early?”  I hope you all enjoy your day today!

Christian Sanders

Leave a Reply

